Banana Chocolate Chip Oat Bars

I wholeheartedly believe in the power of a snack.

In fact, I’m a twice a day snacker. Or at least I should be.

You see, when I’m putting together my lunch box (er….many meal box), I tend to run out of ideas. With oats for breakfast, I like to have a more protein-focused lunch…and then my snacks need to have some protein and fat…and sometimes I have to pack dinner…and I want it all to be delicious and appealing…and keep my energy up for the long day and night ahead…and I hate repeating foods in a single day…blahblahblah.

I know, rough life.

And yeah, I know I’m a little crazy 😉

Lately, I’ve been lying to myself while packing my meals and thinking, nah, I won’t need 2 snacks. When 3:00 pm rolls around, though, I really wonder what the heck I was thinking. Without regular meals and snacks, I’m a beast. A total bear. I transform from my calm and sunny self into a negativity monster who will tear down anyone in her path.

I’ve never found a pre-packaged granola bar that really gets me going. While I love the Larabar, sometimes I want more than nuts and fruit (not to mention the small part of my soul that dies every time I pay for one).

I suspect that I will be trying out many snack bar recipes in the coming weeks as I try to pay attention to my hunger a bit more but these are a pretty tasty start. Whole grain oats and whole wheat flour, slightly sweetened by banana and chocolate chips, with a lovely chew from the peanut butter. They smell incredible and, while I wanted a bit more chew, these will do! I plan on wrapping them individually and storing them in the fridge for a quick grab and run snack.

Hopefully these babies can keep the bear at bay 😉

Banana Chocolate Chip Oat Bars

makes 8-12 bars depending on pan size

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup raw sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter, softened in the microwave
  • 1 egg
  • 1 very ripe banana
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup dark or semi-sweet chocolate chips

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 350* and lightly grease an 8×8 or 11×7 pan.
  • In a large bowl, mix together the oats, flour, sugar, cinnamon, and salt. In a separate medium bowl, mash the banana and mix in the egg and vanilla.
  • Add the wet mixture to the dry and combine well. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  • Spread into the pan and bake for 30 minutes.
  • Allow to cool in the pan for about 10 minutes. For the 8×8 pan, slice into 8 large bars (if you want a smaller snack, slice the bars in half again). For the 11×7 pan, you should come out with about 12 bars.
Leave a Reply

