Pea and Zucchini Soup

You only have yourselves to thank for this soup.

I know. What?

After a week of feeling constantly damp (ick…TMI), never able to quench my thirst, cooking dinner was the last thing on my mind last night. I’ve been melting into my bed each night in exhaustion only to toss and turn because my pathetic little fan cools about 3 square inches around my left shoulder.

I’ve always been one of those people who says she cannot sleep without some sort of cover (you know, as protection from the boogie man or whatever other creepy crawlies may be lurking under my bed). I am no longer that person. I have adopted the starfish position, sprawling out on top of my covers in attempt to keep every part of my body separate from every other part.Yup. That’s my homemade version of air conditioning.

While eating brown rice crispies out of the box with my head in the freezer seemed like a great dinner plan when I first walked in the door, I remembered this silly little blog that I had been neglecting since the weekend. My first thought was oh, heck, like anyone even reads it.

What kind of attitude is that, though?!

So in honor of you, my small but loyal pack of readers, I made pea and zucchini soup.

Let’s not get into why soup came to mind when moments earlier I had peeled my clothes off my body and thought about filling the bathtub with ice. For some reason, the thought of bright green soup seemed so cooling and refreshing.

I forgot that soup is hot. And makes your face sweat when you bend down to slurp a spoonful.

Good thing this soup was extra tasty or else I mighta been forced to eat in the ice bath.

Actually, why didn’t I do that??

Pea and Zucchini Soup

serves 2-3

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon fresh ginger, minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 1/2 poblano pepper, minced
  • 3 cups water or vegetable stock
  • 1.5 cups peas (frozen is cool…literally)
  • 1.5 cups shredded zucchini
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt (less if using fish sauce)
  • generous cracks of black pepper
  • dash of fish sauce (optional)
  • juice from 1 lemon

Method:

  • In a medium soup pot, heat 2 teaspoons olive oil over medium heat.
  • Add the ginger, garlic, onions, and jalapeno and cook for 5 minutes, stirring frequently, so that the onions begin to sweat and your kitchen fills with the delicious aroma of ginger and garlic.
  • Add the water/stock, peas, and zucchini, as well as the salt, pepper, and fish sauce if you are using it.
  • Bring the soup to a boil and then simmer for 10 minutes.
  • Blend the soup until it is mostly smooth. I used my immersion hand blender but a regular blender is fine, too – just not quite as easy!
  • Add the fresh lemon juice and stir.
  • Serve with your favorite crusty bread (with a shmear of goat cheese, of course) or with toasty homemade croutons.

Alongside my soup I had some chicken and cilantro wantons from Trader Joe’s. I’m not usually one for frozen convenience foods (apart from real food veggie burgers) but these are so tasty (and contain only real food so I’m willing to give in)! Something easy to make when you realize halfway through cooking that soup was a terrible idea on a muggy, stormy night.

I didn’t photograph the sprouted bagel half that I toasted and covered in soft goat cheese and raspberry preserves but let me tell you, it was a great idea. Do it.

This soup is refreshing and light, full of all of the green flavors that I expect from late spring. Yes, green is a flavor. The ginger and garlic totally shine and the lemon juice is the perfect end note. And don’t forget about the poblano! He reminded me that he was there with every little spicy kick.

This soup would have been killer if I had served it chilled but who has time to chill soup on a Wednesday night? Some of us needed to watch the second half of the So You Think You Can Dance premiere…right?

Lucky for me, I never make food for one and have delicious chilled leftovers for today’s lunch.

 

 

Tags: , ,

6 Comments to “Pea and Zucchini Soup”

  1. I love your photos! I keep having so much trouble with mine…would you recommend any camera in particular?

    • Thanks! I use the Nikon D3100. Editing is also a God send! I always increase the sharpness of my photos and, if taken indoors, the brightness – just to restore the qualities that the food has in real life. I also have a little point and shoot from Panasonic that is surprisingly good! Lighting makes all of the difference, no matter the camera…at least that’s what I’m realizing. Your photos are better than you think, though! =)

  2. Hi Emily,
    This was a very entertaining read and the soup looks fab! Also, I agree with farenoughfood that your pictures are lovely.

  3. Looks excellent! I will have to try this recipe. Also, my mom is making your carrot cake muffins today as a snack for a business meeting. Lots of people read your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

