(Chewy) Vegan Raspberry Brownies

While I think that all brownies should be dense and chewy, thus making this post’s title a bit redundant in my mind, most brownie recipes cannot deliver and so I thought it would be best to make myself perfectly clear.

I have been hell-bent on creating a brownie recipe that was not only vegan (see ya later tummy-torturing buttah!) but also chewy on the outside and thick and fudgy in the middle. I made a batch on Friday afternoon that I loved but that I also knew didn’t hit the mark; it was a delicious chocolate cake but cake is not a brownie and I knew I had to try again.

Yesterday, I hit the jackpot.

These brownies are not for the faint of heart. Bursting with dark chocolate flavor, chock full of tart fresh raspberries and oozing with chocolate chunks and raspberry preserves.

As much as I love homemade baked goods of any kind, I get a small thrill out of creating slightly less deadly vegan versions. I’m not one to stop at a single brownie and this vegan versions means you can have two or three (or an entire row…) without keeling over in stomach pain an hour later. These deliver on flavor (and texture!!!) without leaving you weighed down and washed out.

Vegan Raspberry Brownies

adapted from Raspberry Jam Brownies on Eat, Live, Run

makes a 9×13″ pan

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup vegan bittersweet chocolate chips (Ghiardelli 60% is the way to go but…they aren’t vegan)
  • 1.5 cups of really good raspberry preserves (such as Bonne Maman or Polaners)
  • 1/4 cup non-dairy milk (or regular – I used Lactaid)
  • 1/2 cup raw sugar
  • 1/2 cup safflower oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup fresh raspberries

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 325* and lightly grease a 9×13″ dish
  • Melt 1/2 of the chocolate chips (microwave or double broiler – stir often, don’t let them burn!)
  • In a large bowl, combine the raspberry preserves, milk, sugar, oil and vanilla. Add the flours, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt and combine well. Stir in the melted chocolate chips.
  • Fold in the remaining chocolate chips and the raspberries. The raspberries should begin to break apart but no worries, just spreading the love!
  • Spread into the prepared pan and make for 35 minutes, or until the top is a bit shiny and beginning to crackle. The inside will continue to cook as the brownies cool.
  • I would wait about 45 minutes to cut these because they are so ooey gooey. Storing them in the fridge allows them to firm up a bit more after cooling!

We now have two pans of slightly different brownies. One cake-like, one fudgy.

These are deadly with coffee chip frozen yogurt.

Just in time for bathing suit season 😉 Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Leave a Reply

