Guacamole-mole-mole

Don’t you just want to bite it?!

Ew. Pretend I didn’t say that.

The Mexican restaurant in my neighborhood makes absolutely the best guacamole that I have ever tried. My friends and I have sat there lingering over each and every scoopful in a desperate attempt to identify that “zing” that the end of every bite.

I am normally a traditionalist when it comes to guac. I don’t like peas or mangoes or whatever other yoohoo ideas you may have getting in on the action and stealing the show away from my avocado. There is nothing quite like opening an avocado at the exact moment that it was meant to be eaten. It is like fulfilling the avocado’s destiny and bring its full potential to fruition. You can’t tell me that tasting an avocado at its creamiest and most flavorful is not one of the best culinary experiences. C’mon, now.

Despite my purist tendencies, this mystery zing has been haunting my culinary (day)dreams for weeks, though, and I thought enchilada night deserved a walk on the wild side.

What’s that Zing? Guacamole

serves 3-4

Ingredients:

  • 3 perfect avocados
  • 1/2 jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 large or 2 small cloves of garlic, crushed
  • juice of 1 lime
  • generous sprinkle of kosher salt

Method:

  • Mash the avocados in a bowl. Then add the other ingredients and mix well.
  • If you are so inclined, blend the guacamole to a much smoother consistency with the immersion blender. (I did this mainly to disguise how dull my knife is and its inability to properly slice an onion. Nobody wants a giant chunk of raw onion taking over their scoop of creamy guac!)
  • Taste! Does it need more salt? More acid?

Okay, so I’m not the first, nor the last, cook to add garlic to her guacamole. It was entirely new to this kitchen, however, and elevated enchilada night to an entirely different level. These avocados were meant to be the perfect guac and the lime was absolutely ripe for the juicing. Maybe I’m not such a purist after all?

Just don’t go expecting me to add blue cheese to my guac any time soon.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

