Millet and Roasted Vegetable Salad

What’s the easiest thing to do with leftover grains? Make a mish mosh of a salad, of course.

About a week ago I made a cup of millet in the rice cooker and have since been adding it wherever I see fit – underneath a chicken sausage red sauce, mixed into my morning bowl of oats, mixed with a delicious ginger and lime tofu stir fry. Leftover grains are so wonderfully versatile and I try to always have a bowl of something or other in the fridge.

During my weekly grocery shopping yesterday I spotted the most gorgeous little eggplant and could already taste how perfect it would be after roasting with olive oil, salt and pepper. Right there in the veggie aisle of Trader Joe’s, millet and roasted vegetable salad was born! Really any leftover grain would be great here – quinoa, barley, brown rice. Whatever you have on hand.

Tossed with a simple sweet and tangy vinaigrette, this was a great light dinner (I also had some chicken cilantro wantons on the side…you can imagine why I didn’t photograph them =)). This salad will be even better tomorrow when I have it chilled on top of a bed of baby spinach, tossed with leftover barbecue chicken breast.

Millet and Roasted Vegetable Salad

serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cooked millet (or other whole grain)
  • 1/2 small eggplant, chopped into large chunks
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped into large chunks
  • 1/2 large yellow onion, sliced
  • 1/4 cup frozen peas
  • sweet and tangy vinaigrette (recipe to follow)

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 400*. Toss the chopped eggplant, pepper and onion on a large baking sheet with olive oil, kosher salt, and pepper. Bake for 30 minutes, turning over halfway through.
  • Meanwhile, reheat the millet in the microwave or on the stove by adding a few tablespoons of water and periodically tossing with a fork until it regains its fluffy texture.
  • Toss the vegetables and millet in a large bowl and add the peas. The heat of the vegetables and millet will cook the peas through.
  • Add the vinaigrette and toss to coat evenly.

Basic Vinaigrette

makes about a 1/4 cup

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1.5 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • salt and pepper to taste

Method:

  • Vigorously whisk until all ingredients are well-combined.

I have never made roasted eggplant before and I was just so pleasantly surprised. Eggplant has the unpleasant tendency to absorb all of the oil in a dish and become disgustingly soggy and totally devoid of flavor. Roasting is the key! I have a feeling grilling would have the same effect. Crispy, deliciously burnt edges and a soft but firm middle and a very mild flavor that can only really be described as, well, eggplanty. Imagine a thin round of grilled eggplant atop a grilled tofu sandwich or a portabella burger?

I believe this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

Tags: ,

3 Comments to “Millet and Roasted Vegetable Salad”

  1. That looks great. I always just use it in bread. And I love eggplant too.

  2. “Eggplant has the unpleasant tendency to absorb all of the oil in a dish and become disgustingly soggy and totally devoid of flavor.” You’re so right! This is why I’ve never had a taste for eggplant, but perhaps I will have to try your roasting technique!

    • Let me know how it goes! I so wish that I had a grill to try out that method. I’m loving your blog, by the way – excellent titles =) I’m thinking of a little Bostonian peer potluck lunch or dinner this summer, I hope people will be in town!

Leave a Reply

