Black Bean Burgers

We have yet to ride one Sunday in the sun but that didn’t stop us from beasting a 38 mile ride.

This was my longest ride of the season thus far and easily the most fun but, I’ll admit, also the most humbling. We encountered climb after climb on our ride to Concord Center today and while I held my own, I also did my fair share of groaning and grumbling. Nothing like a steep ascent to put me in my place. I cannot wait for my roommate to start entering road races; she’s a maniac and will absolutely take down every in the pack on those climbs!

Lunch was a mix of leftovers, including this delicious black bean burger that I threw together last night. So easy, so yummy, so healthy. Exactly what I needed after being in the saddle for 3 hours!

Black Bean Burgers
makes 2 burgers

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cooked or canned black beans (Eden’s organic is the best!)
  • 2 tablespoons whole wheat flour
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 2 small slices cheese (optional – I used mozarella)

Method:

  • Drain and rinse the beans. Mash them in a bowl until they form a thick paste. Really use that elbow grease!
  • Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well.
  • Form 2 patties and cook in a saute pan over medium heat, 5 minutes per side, or until the burger becomes dark and crispy. If adding cheese, place on the burger when the second side is almost fully-cooked and cover so that the cheese will melt nicely.

I love the crispy edges and soft middle. Little swirl of mustard on top =) I had this alongside a greenbean and tomato salad and baked onion rings. I thought I would be able to share the onion ring recipe but I haven’t quite nailed it yet. I’ll be sure to share when I do!

One Trackback to “Black Bean Burgers”

Leave a Reply

