Oatmeal Cookie Answered

What is a girl to do on a rainy Sunday afternoon?

Make oatmeal cookies, of course.

These are no ordinary oatmeal cookies. Yes, they’re vegan, but that’s not even the important part.

They are the best oatmeal cookies I have ever had. Ever.

Now that’s a statement!

I have been on a lifelong quest for the perfect oatmeal cookie. I didn’t even know that I was on the hunt until I stumbled upon this recipe late one night while reading The Kind Diet instead of sleeping. I had no idea that every other oatmeal cookie I had ever had was just playing dress-up, just trying to fit in. This recipe is a stroke of baking genius and I will never go back. Who ever thought I’d owe Alicia Silverstone for filling my oatmeal cookie void?

These cookies are deliciously buttery (without containing butter, mind you) and are just sweet enough to be a cookie and just salty enough to make your taste buds scream, YES. Now THAT’S what I’m talking about!

By the way, the dough is only slightly less delicious than the cookies and that’s just because I like the chew. If you don’t care about the chew, don’t even bother baking them. Seriously.

There’s more. They freeze beautifully. Thank goodness or we’d have a serious problem on our hands. I would no doubt be found tomorrow morning on my kitchen floor, oats and flour dusting my face and cranberries in my hair as the only evidence that some sort of culinary epiphany had occurred.

Cranberry Walnut Oatmeal Cookies

based on Alicia Silverstone’s The Kind Diet

Makes 24 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup raw sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup safflower oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp molasses
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, finely chopped

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 350* and line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper (or lightly grease like I did today)
  • Whisk together the oats, flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl, mix together the maple syrup, oil, vanilla and molasses.
  • Add the wet mixture to the dry ingredients and combine well.
  • Stir in the cranberries and walnuts.
  • Roll into balls, using slightly larger than a teaspoon size (I used my smallest cookie dough scoop…yes, I have those.) Be sure to give each cookie lots of space for even spreading! About 2 inches apart.
  • Bake for about 8 minutes (if your oven is a dive with a mind of her own like mine, Aretha) or until the cookies begin to brown on the edges.
  • Leave them on the pans for about 5 minutes to allow them to harden and come together. If you transfer them to the wire rack too soon, they will crumble and  fall apart…and you will be forced to eat the mess. On second thought…

One Comment to “Oatmeal Cookie Answered”

  1. Thanks for sharing your cookies. I hope it rains again next Sunday.

Leave a Reply

