A Day in the Life…

…of my stomach, that is. 😉

A few of the blogs that I read regularly are devoted to documenting nearly everything that the blogger eats. Not only do I not have the time to do that right now but I’m not really sure that I (or you) have the interest.

That doesn’t mean, though, that I can’t do it for a few days =)

If you’re like me (and no, this isn’t weird at all), you’re always curious about what the inside of others’ refrigerators look like or what they really eat for breakfast. I’ll watch a teenage boy on the bus crumble jelly doughnut down the front of his shirt while the woman next to him eats an apple and a Larabar and just shake my head in amazement. Why do we eat what we eat? Make the food decisions that we do? Are they even decisions (which to me means you’re very aware of them) or are we just going through the motions? Of course these questions don’t elicit the same response from everyone butttt just in case you share my same curiosities, here’s you’re chance to peek into my lunchbox for a few days…

Monday’s Breakfast

Banana overnight oats! Last night I mixed together 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond breeze, 1/2 sliced banana, and a tablespoon of chia seeds. This morning I added a teaspoon of Trader Joe’s raw unsalted almond butter a dollop of Polaner’s raspberry fruit spread, and a large sprinkle of Ambrosial’s muesli. And, of course, some House Blend to finish things off.

Second Breakfast

I don’t know about you but there is no way that I can make it from breakfast to lunch in one piece without a nibble of something along the way. My dad and I are BIG believers in second breakfast. The hunger dance usually starts in my tummy about 3 hours after breakfast, which means it’s only 9:30 or 10:00 am and wayyyy too early for lunch. You might say, oh, you just don’t eat enough for breakfast but the truth is, it’s just how I am. I eat often. Period. I hate feeling super full, or even a bit full, and so I plan accordingly…slightly smaller meals and small snacks in between. It just works! And keeps everyone around me much happier if you know what I mean 😉

I meant to save this for an afternoon snack but ended up wanting it around 10:30 this morning! Food Should Taste Good Cheddar multigrain chips with a small container of hummus that I got at last week’s race. If you look in my cabinet, you’ll see I have hardly any snacky snacks – usually just some popcorn or whole grain pretzels – but these chips were calling my name yesterday when hunger struck around 4:30. So crispy!

Lunch

Excuse the tupperware. A big spinach salad with some orange bell pepper, carrots, and cucumber, two scrambled egg muffins, and a slice of Trader Joe’s multigrain sprouted bread. A few sliced strawberries gave me that little something sweet I always want after a meal.

Afternoon Snack Attack

….unfortunately, this didn’t make it to the photoshoot. I stopped at JP Lick’s for a kiddie cone of mint chip yogurt on my way back from a strength session at the gym. It was exactly what I wanted on a deliciously warm April afternoon. The kiddie cup is the size of an espresso mug but they definitely add waaayyyy more to the cone. I didn’t end up finishing it – too much sugar – but it was splendid while it lasted.

Dinner

I had pineapple that needed to be eaten, leftover brown rice, and a piece of tilapia in the freezer calling my name. Pineapple Stir Fry was born!

Pinapple Stir Fry

makes 1 serving

Ingredients:

1/2 cup chopped fresh pineapple

1/4 onion, chopped

1/2 cup green beans, cooked in the microwave for 3 minutes

3/4 cooked brown rice

1 tilapia filet

Sauce:

1 teaspoon sesame oil

1 teaspoon rice vinegar

a few dashes of fish sauce

1/4 teaspoon Thai red chili paste

1 teaspoon group flax seed, dissolved in 1/4 cup cold water

1/4 lime

Method:

  • heat a teaspoon of oil over medium heat; add the pineapple and onion and saute for about 10 minutes until softened and beginning to caramelize
  • add the green beans and cook for about 5 more minutes. Remove from the veggies from the pan and set aside.
  • Add the tilapia and cook on each side for about 2 minutes. Meanwhile, mix together the sesame oil, rice vinegar, fish  sauce, chili paste, and dissolved flax seed.
  • Remove the fish from the pan and set on a cutting board. It won’t be fully cooked through yet but no worries, we’ll get there. Slice into bite size pieces.
  • Increase the flame to medium high heat. Add the veggies back into the pan, along with the rice and fish. Add the sauce, stir well, and cover the pan. Continue to cook, occassionally stirring, for about 5 minutes.
  • Squeeze fresh lime juice on top and enjoy!

The pineapple in this dish was just perfect. Sweet and sour, warm and juicy. I would have eaten the pineapple all on its own. Feel free to change this recipe however you like. Who am I to tell you what to do, right? I originally planned on broccoli but had to use frozen green beans when I saw I was all out. I can imagine shrimp or scallops would be even better than tilapia in this dish. I’m allergic to scallops and don’t like shrimp but still…I can imagine =)

Off to change my sheets and read in a freshly made, clean bed! 5:15 is going to be here before I know it.


2 Responses to “A Day in the Life…”

  1. I ALWAYS eat second breakfast! Good to know I am not alone. Your pineapple stir fry sounds great.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

