A Glorious Sunday

Woohoo! Best ride I’ve had in a loooonnngg time. We made plans to head out bright and early this morning (…more like 9am) and hit the bike trail! With a promise of sunny and 70*, we couldn’t miss out.

Taz (yup, that good looking road bike up there) stuck with me during my first clipless ride on real roads. I finally felt like a real cyclist! When I first got my bike 9 months ago, it was all I could do to just manage the bike. Never in a million years did I think I’d be zipping through traffic (clipped in, no less!), zooming down hills. I turned to my roommate halfway through the ride and yelled “I am SO HAPPY”. Nothing like a morning in the saddle to set the mood for the week =)

My traditional pre-long active day breakfast

as well as a pit stop for some dates

kept my tummy happy until just before we got home.When we walked through the door we were FAMISHED and had eggs and sweet potatoes on the brain!

Scrambled Egg Muffins

makes 12 muffins

Ingredients:

6 eggs

5 egg whites

1/2 cup low fat milk

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1 small zucchini, grated

1/2 red bell pepper, small dice

1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese

few cracks fresh black pepper

Method:

Preheat oven to 350*.

Mix everything together in a large bowl. Pour into lightly greased muffin tin and bake for 20-22 minutes.

These were so tasty! Unfortunately, they sank a bit in the middle after coming out of the oven but they were still absolutely scrumptious and totally hit the spot. Yes, I suppose we could have just made scrambled eggs, but c’mon. You have to admit that these are much, much cuter.

On the side we had sweet potato home fries, spiced up with some cumin and kosher salt, and a big mixed green salad. Hiding underneath all of those greens is the mango salsa from last night’s taco potluck. Sweet and savory salads are definitely a favorite of mine.

And just as promised, for dessert…

This was even better today! I wasn’t totally thrilled with it last night but absolutely fell in love today. I usually like my crumble piping hot but this recipe might be better cold.

If you have never tried the lactose-free vanilla ice cream from JP Lick’s…well, what are you waiting for? Hands down the best vanilla ice cream I’ve tried. I just don’t know how they do it…

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “A Glorious Sunday”

  1. Looks like a great Sunday indeed. Nice plate!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

