Oats A-Go-Go

This breakfast isn’t going to look appetizing. It’s going to look like slop in a jar…partly because that’s exactly what it is. I swear that it ends up being doughy and delicious and exactly what you want when you can’t have oats fresh off the stove. If you don’t believe me, look here, here, and here.

Now do you get it?

With plans to wake-up at 5:15 and head to the gym before work, I made my breakfast and lunch last night. Lunch was easy (left-over black bean veggie burger – post to come!) but I had to put a bit of thought into breakfast. Yes, peanut butter and banana sandwiches are easy to prep and carry along but I don’t always want bread as my first grain of the day. Don’t get me wrong. Bread is fantastic. Whole grain, seeded, chewy, yeasty bread is exactly what I want sometimes. I like to explore the world of grains, though, and I try to make sure most of my grains are in their (almost) truest form and not their baked result. Brown rice, wild rice, quinoa, oats, bulgar, barley, millet…I could go on. I love ’em all! So how do you get them after your workout when you won’t be heading back home before work?

Overnight Oats!

Look, I already provided a disclaimer. I know it looks gross. Just have a little faith, k?

In the overnight jar:

1/3 cup rolled oats

2 tbsp oat bran

2/3 cup Almond Breeze unsweetened vanilla

1/2 slice banana

1 tbsp chia seeds

Stir all of this together and put in the refrigerator overnight (this also works if you want quick, non-stove top oatmeal – just leave everything for about 10 minutes and voila! Breakfast!).

This morning I added a big tablespoon of Trader Joe’s unsalted creamy almond butter, a sprinkle of Whofie’s Save the Rain Forest Granola, and a dollop of Polaner’s raspberry fruit spread. I carried this with me to the gym and ate it afterward on my way to work. I’ve learned to ignore the strange looks I get when I’m eating out of a nut butter jar…

Overnight oats are exactly like oatmeal when it comes to the endless possibilities. I love using leftover cooked grains like quionoa or barley in the mix. Adding yogurt instead of milk or some sort of combo works, too. The basic idea is to use equal parts liquid and oats so that the oats can absorb it all. Just try it out and see what happens! Are the flavors of overnight oats as strong as hot stovetop oats? No. That’s alright, though – they more than make up for it with the chew and convenience! Not to mention there’s hardly any clean-up 😉

3 Responses to “Oats A-Go-Go”

  1. I don’t know about this one. I can’t get past the look. I also can’t get past the top of the jar being cross threaded. Please fix that. Anyway, I believe you that it tastes good, but the visuals don’t sway me.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

