Black Bean Veggie Burger

Have you ever been to The Publick House? Please don’t say you got the mac and cheese. Not that there’s anything wrong with mac and cheese (although, no one I know likes theirs). It’s just that you missed out on one of the greatest vegetarian burgers ever made. These burgers are a revelation. That’s a fact. I would do terrible things for this burger. Their secret? Cumin.

Don’t forget to order the french fries in a bag. Not a cone. A bag.

I absolutely love a good veggie burger but most store-bought varieties are as processed as food can come and loaded with bizarre ingredients. Not exactly the healthiest choice around. I’ll take meat over fake food any day.

For months I’ve wanted to make my own veggie burgers but kept pushing that idea aside because I don’t own a food processor. I came home on Sunday night, though, to one of my roommates furiously chopping peppers and onions into itty bitty bits. She had decided to hell with the food processor when she has hands! Those burgers were on my mind all day on Monday and I just knew I had to give them a whirl. The result? Oh, baby. We’re giving The Publick House a run for its money! Well, maybe not, but these are super tasty and healthy and do much less damage to your wallet 😉 These are not quite like those at The Publick House, which doesn’t use a black bean base like mine (how do they do it?!) but the flavors are very, very similar. The flavors just own it and make alll that chopping worth it!

After doing a bit of research, I threw together a recipe that reflected the basic idea behind black bean burgers, as well as my own flavor preferences and, of course, what would amp up the nutritional profile! The recipe below is exactly what I did but there are notes to follow suggesting some small changes.

Black Bean Veggie Burgers

makes 4 burgers

Ingredients:

1 16-oz. can organic black beans, rinsed well and dried

1/2 green bell pepper, roughly chopped

1/2 yellow onion, roughly chopped

1 cup chopped carrot

3 cloves garlic

1 egg

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup rolled oats

2 tbsp ground flax seed

1 tbsp cumin

1 tbsp chili powder

1 tsp (couple of big shakes) tabasco or hot sauce

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 375* if cooking right away. (These are too mushy to grill right after prepping and I think too mushy for pan frying. Freeze them first if this is what you want to do.)

2. Put peppers, onions, carrots, and garlic into the food processor and finely chop. Note: I used my hand blender’s chop attachment. My roommate just chopped everything very fine with a knife. Use what you’ve got!


3. Add the beans to veggies and process until fully mashed and mixed. If using your hands, mash the beans with a fork in a medium bowl and then mix in the veggies.

4. Incorporate the egg into the bean and veggie mixture, then add the flour, oats, and flax. Add the spices.

5. The mixture will be very wet. Form into 4 patties and place onto an oiled baking sheet (or line with parchment paper).

6. Bake for 10 minutes on each side.

Notes:

The veggies will be very, very wet. I suggest draining them before mixing them with the beans. This will make for a much drier mixture and you probably won’t need as much flour/oats/flax. Use your judgment to figure out the exact proportions. Too wet? Needs more flour.

Looking for a vegan version? Just leave out the egg!

I baked two patties and froze the other two after wrapping them in plastic wrap. These can be baked right out of the freezer – just add on some cooking time.

I served my burger with a brown rice and whole grain mixture from Trader Joe’s and a side of steamed broccoli (I was famished and ate about half the brocc while the burger was baking…and now it’s hiding behind the rice).

This burger was fantastic! Crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. Beautiful flecked with bright colors from all of the veggies and incredibly flavorful from the cumin (spice of the year award?). I had the second one for lunch today with a giant salad and a slice of six grain and pumpkin seed bread from When Pigs Fly Bakery. I was so excited for lunch all morning and it did not disappoint!!

I don’t care if you’re a picky eater, an omnivore, or a red meat lover. Go make these right now. These babies are not meant to be a poor burger substitute for the vegetarians out there – they are totally rockin’ in their own right and need to be tried by everyone.


Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Black Bean Veggie Burger”

  1. It looks like a great meal! I will definitely try this one. Thanks.

  2. I’ve only had a veggie burger once before in my life….However, I made these last night for dinner with kale chips and WPF bread. SO freaking good!!!!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

