No Butts About It

This is the last recipe I ever pictured posting. Well, that may be a bit dramatic, but let’s just say that when I envisioned my healthy living blog, pulled pork shoulder butt (I have yet to understand what this means) was not at the top of my list. Really, though, it should have been. You see, I’m a picky eater but I’ll eat anything (anything real, that is). I don’t turn down meat or dairy or eggs or sugar…I usually just like to make sure that I know where my food is coming from, know what may be hiding that isn’t so great for my body, and try to make sure that I’m mostly putting plants in my mouth. I’m a thoughtful eater, I suppose. Last night’s family dins? Despite it’s focus on a pig’s heiny? Definitely thoughtful.

Ooo, look at that steamy sauce. Pulled pork slow-cooked in our Crock Pot with a heaping pile of kale chips and a soft corn muffin. This is the perfect meal for any time of year. Football games? Cookouts? Cold winter night? Lazy Sunday? Post-race meal? I could go on.

One of my roommates has had a serious hankering for bbq this week and let me tell you, this bbq is serious. Loaded with sweet and tangy flavors from Bone Suckin’ BBQ sauce, spice from the chipotle marinade, and unbelievably fall-apart soft from its hours in the slow cooker. We were inspired by Jenna’s recipe but made some changes of our own based on what we could find. My roommate did the heavy lifting with this meal and prepared the butt – she left me the easy job of sides! Usually my meals are much heavier in the whole grains and greens but hey, sometimes life calls for getting a little down and dirty. And I am SO glad we did.

This was ten zillion times better than the local BBQ joint and we knew exactly what we were eating (which makes a meal even more enjoyable for me!). We picked up organic pork at Whole Foods and we were able to cut off all of that nasty white fat, control the amount of salt and sugar going in, and pick healthier sides. I usually like to make things from scratch but the mixes from Arrowhead Mills are delicious and healthy and great time-savers. Very little sugar, whole grains, and healthy oil! I made a half-batch. The full batch requires 1 egg but I put 1 egg into my half and it was fine! I used grapeseed oil but any mild cooking oil will work.

BBQ Pulled Pork (Shoulder Butt)

adapted from Eat Live Run

ours served 3 with a serving of leftovers

1-2 lbs organic pork butt shoulder (we used 1.6 lbs, adjust for fat removal)

8 oz. Bone Suckin’ Sauce (regular variety)

4 oz. chipotle sauce (whatever you can find!)

1/2 large yellow onion, chopped

1 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp ground mustard

1/4 tsp chili powder

Mix the salt, mustard, and chili powder together and rub all over the butt (heh =)). Brown the meat on all sides over medium-high heat. Once browned, place into the crock pot and add sauces and onion. Cook on high for 6-8 hours. When the meat falls apart when touch with a fork, it’s eating time!

Shred the pork and serve! Make sure to have extra muffins or bread to sop up all of that yummy sauce!

We only let our meat cook for about 5 1/2 hours – we started too late in the day and were way too impatient to wait. If it fell apart after only 5 1/2, imagine the melt-in-your-mouth quality after 8!

Don’t forget the greens!

Kale Chips

Preheat the oven to 375*. Wash and dry your kale (use however much you want to eat). Tear off large potato-chip size chunks, leaving behind the thick stalk, and spread onto a large baking sheet. Sprinkle with kosher salt and drizzle with olive oil. Toss around to evenly coat. Bake for 15 minutes. Delicious with kethcup or bbq sauce or whatever else you like!

To quote one of my rooommates, “This is the best thing I have ever put in my mouth”.

Tags: ,

3 Comments to “No Butts About It”

  1. That looks awesome. I live in the south so have learned to appreciate a good BBQ. Now if I only my wife would come around on kale…

  2. The pictures are spectacular! I couldn’t stop looking at this meal. Now, all I have to do is make it. Crock Pot here we come.

Leave a Reply

