And we all fall down.

See that right foot? Mmhmm. It’s clipped in! I finally did it! I won’t bore you with the pathetic details of my feeble attempts to ride clipless last fall. My roomie, who is a beast of a rider, stuck with me, though, and this morning (after about 45 minutes of standing in the above position) I took off flying!

The three of us went riding to celebrate our recent bike purchases/successful clip-in attempts. It looked sunny and warm but, MAN, it was only about 20 minutes before we turned into icicles. We still had a blast and to add to the fun, we all tipped over! I know, that’s an odd way to make a ride more enjoyable. Everyone has to fall at some point, though! My turn came toward the end of our ride. We were crossing a road and I thought I was hot stuff by that point and didn’t unclip to come to a stop. A car suddenly came around the corner and instead of unclipping, I faltered and fell right onto my left side! Some other women biking ahead of us saw me and we all just cracked up. It’s a cyclist thing =P

After being frozen solid for an hour and a half, soup was on the agenda for lunch!

A couple of weeks ago my roommate turned me on to Tomato and Roasted Red Pepper soup from TJ’s. I picked up a box of the low-sodium yesterday and it was fantastic! Creamy and tangy, perfectly smooth. I added a bit of shredded mozarella on top and some toasted six seed and pumpkin bread from When Pigs Fly bakery. I drizzled Garlic Gold olive oil on top before toasting them in a 375* oven for about 5 minutes. Salad on the side! Spinach, carrots, celery, and a drizzle of Garlic Gold Lemon vinaigrette.

Ahh, it warmed me from the inside out. And for dessert/because I was still hungry? Plain low-fat yogurt topped with 1/2 sliced banana, Ambrosial muesli, and a dollop of chocolate peanut butter!

Happy Saturday!

Tags: , ,

One Comment to “And we all fall down.”

  1. Good Afternoon Emily. I just told Denise about your food blog. She is going to check it out.

Leave a Reply

