Fit for a Lion?

April isn’t playing. After such a rude introduction to winter with all of the storms back in December and January, things began to calm and I had gotten used to seeing the pavement (even if it was still cold out!). I guess such a wild winter couldn’t just make a quiet exit out the side door!

This morning’s breakfast seemed quite fitting for what was happening outside my window. I knew I wanted something warm to get out the chill but it had to be hearty  – I was starving! With a bit more time to eat today, I cooked up a batch of steel cut oats. Steel cut and rolled oats are the same nutrionally but the steelies definitely offer a totally different texture and nuttier flavor – not to mention they require some serious patience! THEY TAKE ALMOST 30 MINS TO COOK. Trader Joe’s offers these great quick-cooking steel cut oats but I decided I’d go for the real deal this morning. I’m incredibly intolerant of a rumbly tummy but it’s probably good for me to learn a bit of restraint and patience when it comes to breakfast.

I don’t actually buy Quaker Oats anymore. It’s much cheaper to get a giant bag from the bulk bins at Whole Foods – I just use the Quaker container because it’s comforting (and convenient!). The steel cuts are on the left. I picked mine up at Market Basket a while back but they’re sold everywhere!

Steelies are much tinier (rolled oats are flattened out which gives a large surface area for faster cooking) so the proportions of oats to water are much different. Oatmeal is not something you would generally think of as requiring teeth but a good batch of steel cut definitely requires some jaw power! Aren’t they just so cute? For some reason steel cut keep me feeling full for much longer than the rolled variety. I guess it just feels like a more substantial bowl?

Today’s Bowl

In the pot:

1/4 cup steel cut oats

1 cup water

1 cup unsweetened original Almond Breeze

1/2 sliced banana

1 T. chia seeds at the end

splash of vanilla at the end

On top:

1/2 sliced banana

big tablespoon Teddy’s Creamy Peanut Butter

sprinkle unsweetened coconut flakes

sprinkle Nature’s Path Hemp Plus Granola

You’ll have to excuse the poor picture quality. The lighting in my kitchen was terrible and venturing out onto the slushy walkway just for another photo of oats seemed like a bit too much to handle before breakfast! Despite the not so hot photography, this was a divine bowl. See all of those plump chia seeds? They make oatmeal so fluffy!!!! Flax used to be my favorite add-in but I came to my senses and never looked back after adding chia!

This might seem crazy but after a really trying week, a perfect bowl of oatmeal is exactly what I needed to get myself out of the funk.

Leave a Reply

