Salsa Every Day

5 for $5 mangos at Whofie? Oh. Yes.

Mango Salsa

2 ripe mangos, peeled and diced (I’m obviously not too picky about uniform size)

1/2 red onion, diced

1/2 red bell pepper, diced

big handful cilantro, roughly chopped

juice of 1 lime

sprinkle of kosher salt

Toss everything together in a bowl! Cover and chill in the refrigerator for a few minutes or until you’re ready to get munching!

This salsa is good on everything. Oddly enough, I have no idea how it tastes on a chip (my guess? sublime). As soon as I tossed everything together in a bowl, I assembled this:

I’ll call this an open-face burrito but only because I couldn’t even begin to imagine how I would roll it up! From the bottom layer up:

Whole wheat tortilla, warmed in the toaster

1/2 smashed avocado

Eden’s Organic black beans (cooked on the stove for 45 min with 1/2 chopped onion, ~ 1/2 cup chopped carrots, 1/2 c. water)

Mango salsa!

The mango was perfectly sweet and provided the perfect balance to the deeper (almost burnt) flavor of the beans. This avocado was meant to be eaten at 2pm yesterday – it could not have been creamier!

I had this salsa again with lunch today, this time mixed into a salad consisting of left-over quionoa, spinach, and the left-over bean mixture from yesterday. I bet this would also be super tasty on the quinoa with a runny over-easy egg. You should probably make just that for dins and let me know how it is =) Buon appetito!

(Psst. See that cupcake creeping in the background? Stay tuned ;).)

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Salsa Every Day”

  1. This salsa is the best I have ever had. I don’t know why they call all of the other stuff salsa.

    Jean

  2. whoah this blog is fantastic i love reading your articles. Keep up the great work! You know, many people are hunting around for this information, you can aid them greatly.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

