Oats

This morning’s bowl of oats was a heavenly combination. As I was getting ready to dig in, I suddenly realized a post about my one true love (sorry, Mr. Ginger) was long overdue.

I swear there are oats under that goopy mess of deliciousness =) What can I say? I’m a sucker for toppings.

Whenever I profess my love for oatmeal there are always some downers in the room. Descriptions like mushy vomit in a bowl or breakfast for the toothless are often thrown around. All I can do is shake my head and say, you have no idea what you’re missing!! And that just means more oats for me =) Some of my friends have been asking for my oat recipe for a while so if you’re not one of the haters, keep reading! (And even if you are, I dare you to not love this).

A perfect bowl of oatmeal has three parts: the oats, the mix-ins, and the toppings. I suppose recipes are helpful when you’re a newb but a great bowl of oats really has no rules. Go wild! (Yeah, I know. Oatmeal? Wild?) I always make some sort of “whipped” oats ala Kath, so head on over to KERF if you want to see the how-to video (and for a basic oats recipe)!

Today’s Bowl

In the pot:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup Almond Breeze unsweetened original
  • 1/2 banana, thinly sliced
  • huge tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1 egg stirred in at the end

On top:

  • big tablespoonful TJ’s sunflower butter
  • sprinkle of Whole Food’s “Save the Rainforest” granola
  • sprinkle of unsweetened, dried coconut flakes
  • a couple of raisins

Today’s bowl was pretty beefed up because I went for a 7-mile run (first one of 2011!!) and was about to chew my arm off.

The whole egg in this bowl made for such perfect chew. I also had the patience today to whip them oats good and so I was rewarded with melty, creamy bananas. Doesn’t get much better than that!

Saturday morning =) Have a great weekend!

Tags:

One Trackback to “Oats”

Leave a Reply

